Washington Elementary School is a K-6 school established in 1953 on 8.2 acres overlooking the Pacific Ocean and the Channel Islands. Today, our campus consists of 11 permanent and 17 portable classrooms.

The full-time staff includes 23 regular classroom teachers, 4 Gifted and Talented Education (GATE) teachers, 2 special education teachers, 4 classroom aides, 2 custodians, 2 office personnel, and a librarian. Additional staff includes a physical education specialist, a child guidance counselor, a psychologist, a health clerk, a speech and language therapist, an instrumental music instructor, a science lab teacher, an art teacher, and a computer lab technician.

These people, combined with the efforts of the principal, the PTO, countless volunteers, and motivated and dedicated parents, form a team to ensure that children receive an education that will prepare them for the 21st century.

Washington Family Handbook 2020-2021

Faculty / Staff

Principle:
Denise Granger, Principal: cdgranger@sbunified.org

Kindergarten:
Isabel Esparza: iesparza@sbunified.org (TK/Kinder)
Elizabeth Mortensen: emortensen@sbunified.org
Karen Slotnick-Lastrico: kslotnick-lastrico@sbunified.org

First:
Ali Angelopoulos: aangelopoulos@sbunified.org
Nancy Lusk: nlusk@sbunified.org
Meredith Llewellyn: mllewellyn@sbunified.org

Second:
Tammy White: twhite@sbunified.org
Heather McBurnie: hmcburnie@sbunified.org
Heather Voltz: hvoltz@sbunified.org

Third:
Kim Baron: kbaron@sbunified.org
Bridget Gankas: bberg@sbunified.org
Bettina Chin: bchin@sbunified.org
Heather Grosch: hgrosch@sbunified.org (GATE)

Fourth:
Caitlin Garcia: caitlingarcia@sbunified.org
Raquel Frausto: rfrausto@sbunified.org
Anna Stump: astump@sbunified.org
Cathy Neushul: cneushul@sbunified.org (4th/5th GATE)

Fifth:
Gizelle O’Loughlin: goloughlin@sbunified.org
Whitney Alegria: walegria@sbunified.org
Jennifer Griffith: jgriffith@sbunified.org (GATE)

Sixth:
Michael Riley: mriley@sbunified.org
Kaye Cantu: kcantu@sbunified.org
Jackie Bluestein: jbluestein@sbunified.org (GATE)

Specials:
P.E.:Victor Vargas: vvargas@sbunified.org
STEM: Justin Mack: jmack@sbunified.org
Music: Cynthia Vong: cvong@sbunified.org
Art: Andrea Lashua: arlashua@sbunified.org

Resource Specialist:
Ken Greenberg: kgreenberg@sbunified.org
Maria Rivera: mrivera@sbunified.org

Library:
Linda Szumski: lszumski@sbunified.org

Office Support:
Rosa Cavaletto: rcavaletto@sbunified.org
Lourdes Fleisher: Lfleisher@sbunified.org